DNA Testing for Paternity, Maternity, Sibling and Immigration

Accredited Legal, Private, Clinical and Mobile DNA Test Services plus Home DNA Test Kits
Providing answers to life's toughest questions

DNA Identifiers has been offering clients peace of mind since 2001. Our service is quick, confidential and compassionate. We are commited to excellence in customer service!

Contact Us Today (888) 362-4339

Se Habla Español!

Resources

Please recommend this site to others!




www.dog-dna.com

Bedrooms, Backseats and Courtrooms

The Truth About Sex in America Today
Co-authored by our own Meagan Thompson

Nevada State Paternity Laws

posted by DNA Identifiers @ 3:06 PM
Friday, July 24, 2009

nevada

The below information is a general guide to Nevada State Paternity Laws. Please conduct further research on your state laws for current or updated information or contact a family attorney for professional legal advice. For information on state collection locations, click here.

Link: What Every Parent Should Know about Establishing Paternity

Link: Declaration of Paternity

Required Probability of Paternity for Nevada Courts: 99% – except that the presumption may be rebutted if he establishes that he has an identical sibling who may be the father. (NRS 126.051)

Required Paternity Index: None at this time

Current Nevada Paternity Law: NRS 126

PATERNITY GENERALLY

NRS 126.051Presumptions of paternity.

1.  A man is presumed to be the natural father of a child if:

(a) He and the child’s natural mother are or have been married to each other and the child is born during the marriage, or within 285 days after the marriage is terminated by death, annulment, declaration of invalidity or divorce, or after a decree of separation is entered by a court.

(b) He and the child’s natural mother were cohabiting for at least 6 months before the period of conception and continued to cohabit through the period of conception.

(c) Before the child’s birth, he and the child’s natural mother have attempted to marry each other by a marriage solemnized in apparent compliance with law, although the attempted marriage is invalid or could be declared invalid, and:

(1) If the attempted marriage could be declared invalid only by a court, the child is born during the attempted marriage, or within 285 days after its termination by death, annulment, declaration of invalidity or divorce; or

(2) If the attempted marriage is invalid without a court order, the child is born within 285 days after the termination of cohabitation.

(d) While the child is under the age of majority, he receives the child into his home and openly holds out the child as his natural child.

2.  A conclusive presumption that a man is the natural father of a child is established if tests for the typing of blood or tests for genetic identification made pursuant to NRS 126.121 show a probability of 99 percent or more that he is the father except that the presumption may be rebutted if he establishes that he has an identical sibling who may be the father.

3.  A presumption under subsection 1 may be rebutted in an appropriate action only by clear and convincing evidence. If two or more presumptions arise which conflict with each other, the presumption which on the facts is founded on the weightier considerations of policy and logic controls. The presumption is rebutted by a court decree establishing paternity of the child by another man.

(Added to NRS by 1979, 1270; A 1983, 1868; 1995, 732, 2416; 1997, 2304; 2007, 1523)

NRS 126.053Voluntary acknowledgment of paternity.

1.  After the expiration of the period described in subsection 2, a declaration for the voluntary acknowledgment of paternity developed by the State Board of Health pursuant to NRS 440.283 shall be deemed to have the same effect as a judgment or order of a court determining the existence of the relationship of parent and child if the declaration is signed in this or any other state by the mother and father of the child. A declaration for the voluntary acknowledgment of paternity that is signed pursuant to this subsection is not required to be ratified by a court of this State before the declaration is deemed to have the same effect as a judgment or order of a court determining the existence of the relationship of parent and child.

2.  A person who signs an acknowledgment of paternity in this State may rescind the acknowledgment:

(a) Within 60 days after the acknowledgment is signed by both persons; or

(b) Before the date on which an administrative or judicial proceeding relating to the child begins if that person is a party to the proceeding,

Ê whichever occurs earlier.

3.  After the expiration of the period during which an acknowledgment may be rescinded pursuant to subsection 2, the acknowledgment may not be challenged except upon the grounds of fraud, duress or material mistake of fact. The burden of proof is on the person challenging the acknowledgment to establish that the acknowledgment was signed because of fraud, duress or material mistake of fact.

4.  Except upon a showing of good cause, a person’s obligation for the support of a child must not be suspended during a hearing to challenge a voluntary acknowledgment of paternity.

(Added to NRS by 1997, 2301; A 2007, 1524)

Link: Nevada Statues

This information is a general guide. Research your state laws for current information or contact a family attorney.

Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.

Copyright ©2017 Innersanctum Inc. | Privacy Policy | 5316 NE 15th Avenue, Portland OR 97211 | | Updated: 06/27/17 | In California: www.california-dna-testing.com | In Oregon: www.oregon-dna.com | Immigration DNA Testing: www.immigration-test.com | Dog DNA Testing: www.dog-dna.com